AquaClear 50

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AquaClear 50

I bought this new filter after reading all the good reviews on it. Looks pretty nice but I wasn't expecting it to have so many parts to put together. Plus stacking the filter elements? I'm pretty new to all of this, but it's a little crazy.
    Last edited by Lairdc76; 06-05-2013, 08:45 PM.

It really doesn't have that many parts actually, lol.

its an amazing filter, all you'd need to replace is the carbon and the white one I forgot what it's called. But not the sponge just wash that off with aquarium water, never faucet water.
    20Long
    8Ebi

Comment

Keep the sponge (mechanical/biological media) and biomax (your biological media). Toss or give away the carbon and buy a 100ml bag of purigen or just use the sponge and biomax. There should only be a u shaped tube, an entension tube, the impeller, and the motor. If you look at one or already seen one assembled, it's easy to put it together. Use google image if you need pictures.

Sent from my spaceship using Tapatalk 2.

Comment

I read the instructions on it this time, unlike my mishap with my feeder. It's alot nicer than my other filter that I have on there now. Might have to get me another to replace my old one.

Comment

Best HOB filters on the market, they are all we use. Overfiltering is never bad with Aqua-Clears and their customizable media options allow any configuration you want. Definitely the closest thing to a canister.
          In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king.
          Desiderius Erasmus
          GHAC President

Comment

What size tank is it on? There's a lower number on the tank rating. Normally I don't put the filter on anything bigger. AquaClear 50 says 30-50gal normally I'll put it on a 10-20gal. For a 30-50 gal tank I'll put an AC70 or AC110. For a 50-100 One or two AC110.

Comment

Originally posted by mnemenoi View Post