Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clean up crew/snails

Hello,

Im new to saltwater. I started stocking up my 12 gallon recently and when it came to a CUC I asked around for some recommendations. I ended up with 5 nassarius snails and a cleaner shrimp. Later I was googling and didn't realize the nassarius snails do not eat algae. I'm making a conscious effort not to overfeed so my clowns are gobbling up pretty much all the food I provide...the very little that gets away, the cleaner shrimp gets to pretty quickly. Should I get rid of my nassarius snails since it doesn't seem like they'd have much to eat? If so, any recommendation on snails to replace them with that will help keep my tank clean of algae? I always read about turbo snails online but I saw one at the LFS and it seemed a little too big for my tank? Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by bamzam; 06-06-2016, 06:05 PM.

Ive had my saltwater tank for some time and I still cant remember what each type of snail does. I would look on you tube for the Bulk Reef Supply 52 week video series on the 160 gallon tank. One of the weeks has some great information on CUC's. The good thing about the series is he is pretty straight forward and not trying to sell you a product for the most part. You might be starving those little guys as this is a new tank.

200 - African cichlids
    72 - Salty Bow Front
    33 Cube - community
    10's - Freshwater Shrimp

Comment

When new to saltwater it's always best to start with a 55 gallon or greater tank
      Easier tank to keep stable parameters.
      With a tank that small, it's best to have an auto top off to keep the salinity stable or it's going to fluctuate up and down very fast since you don't have a huge volume of water to work with.