Tips on how to strip Chimba holding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips on how to strip Chimba holding

Well I have my first chimba holding right now and Im gonna make an egg tumbler sometime today when I find a design for one. Though the problem will come with stripping "I've never done it before" and was wondering what tips anyone has for stripping

How long has she been holding?
    210gPetrochromis Macrognatus Green 'Nsumbu
    125g Mdoka White Lip

"Success is the willingness to fail"

Comment

Here's what I do. Fill a bucket with tank water, then catch female you're gonna strip. Hold her firmly with one have so that she's upright. Then dunk her in the water and gently pry her upper lip upwards. This will make her open her whole mouth and eggs should fall out. Give her a gentle up/down shake to make sure all the eggs are out, do a visual check as well. Then get the lower section of the tumbler and put it under water as well, and using a well used spoon transfer the eggs into it very gently. Then use another container with tank water to transfer the half of the tumbler back into the tank by scooping it along with some water from the bucket. Key here is never to expose the eggs to air. Once in the tank, you can reassemble the tumbler and hook up air. Regulate air so that the eggs gently sway inside the tumbler.

When you strip the females, I would recommend doing it before day 5 or after day 10 or so because the developing fry is very fragile at this time. Obviously, the longer you wait past day 10 the better. Yolk sac should start disappearing rather rapidly after 14 - 15 days.

Good luck Johnny
      http://www.facebook.com/DAScolorado

Comment

Originally posted by SunnyHouTX View Post