Lets talk ICH...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lets talk ICH...

I have Ich in my tank...75 gallons. I have read a ton of Ich threads in here and have questions specific to my case.

1. I am on day 3 of elevated heat. 86-88 degree range, I have a little fluctuation. Fish seem to be dropping white spots off. There is only 1 fish I see that is still holding 3 tiny spots, which is less than before.
    Question, how long do I keep the temperature elevated? The full 2 weeks I am treating this or do I drop the temp after I see all spots are gone?

2. Current water stats:
    GH= 120
    KH=240
    PH=8.0-8.5
    No2=0
    No3=0
    Hows this look?

3. Salt...I added 15 tablespoons of salt brine on the 11th. I have done no water changes...How many days should I let the salt water stay in the tank?

Lets start there. Whos an expert?

I'm not an expert, but maybe this will help. First, the reason you are increasing the heat is to speed up the lifecycle of the ich and maybe kill some. Supposedly, at around 86 F, it stops reproducing, and at around 90 F, it dies. I'm not sure I'd be comfortable kicking my tank water up to 90+ though. Anyway, if I were you, I'd carefully (without stirring up the water too much), syphon your gravel to get the trophonts and tomites that have detached from the fish out of the tank, and keep doing what you are doing for a total of 10 days..
    Our Fishhouse
    Sleep: A completely inadequate substitute for caffeine.

Comment

And maybe kill some!? PFFT! I am in full blown camo over here, even have my face painted! I am in Kill Mode! Siphoning Phase 1 will begin soon, Do I need to replace water I have removed? I also have salt in the tank to aid in the battle.

Comment