Cichlid pond in Conroe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cichlid pond in Conroe

Hi I'm new to the Houston Area and new to the Forum.

Moved here from Colorado and eventually want to start a pond in our yard in Conroe. My ideal would be to stock it with cichlids. Rough plans i have involve an approx 2000 gallon pond with a 'natural' filtration system of a waterfall with a swamp area. The pond will be probably around 3 feet deep max.

Are cichlids an option in the Conroe area? I mean, if i harvest a few Texas Cichlids from local lakes, would they survive the winter? Has/is anyone done/doing this? If so, with what species of Cichlid?

Thanks!!

Welcome to the forums, I just touched down in the Conroe area too recently.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Comment

Originally posted by s9601694 View Post
      Hi I'm new to the Houston Area and new to the Forum.

Moved here from Colorado and eventually want to start a pond in our yard in Conroe. My ideal would be to stock it with cichlids. Rough plans i have involve an approx 2000 gallon pond with a 'natural' filtration system of a waterfall with a swamp area. The pond will be probably around 3 feet deep max.

Are cichlids an option in the Conroe area? I mean, if i harvest a few Texas Cichlids from local lakes, would they survive the winter? Has/is anyone done/doing this? If so, with what species of Cichlid?

Thanks!!
      What's up man! Welcome to HTX and HFB.

As long as you keep native species, you should have no problem keeping that pond going all year round. In addition to Texas Cichlids, you could also have blue gills, sunfish, etc. All very beautiful fish.
      http://www.facebook.com/DAScolorado

Comment

Originally posted by SunnyHouTX View Post
        What's up man! Welcome to HTX and HFB.