BioCube 29

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BioCube 29

So I am very new to the Houston area. I just moved here from Atlanta where I have a 29 setup and has been running for a while. It is pretty heavily stocked with corals and a few fish and I missed it so much I decided I would set one up here in Houston to pass the time since I am on contract here and could only be here for a year maybe two.

Before I even found a place to live I scouted every fish store in the Houston market. When I say every I even went into some real seedy places that I did not even thought they sold fish. I finally got water in the tank and I am starting the cycle but I am to impatient. I purchased some small crabs and will be adding them to the tank this weekend.

My question for everyone on this build thread is BB or not. If I choose to go bare then what would be the best option to line the bottom of the glass to help "protect" the glass.

Lighting.. I plan on ditching the stock CF lights on the cube and I am going to purchase the new AI hydra. I have a SOL Blue mounted in my tank in Atlanta that I fitted into the hood leaving it looking stock. I would like to get the director that AI is coming out with soon to control the lighting,
    Also, I plan on doing one of two things. Removing the top completely or making the cube rimless. I have no problem modding this tank as I picked it up for a steal of a price.

Any suggestions on the bare bottom "starboard" or other alternatives and where could I pick it up locally? I would like to support local business as much as possible since I rely on them for answers to my questions.