Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why do I fail at keeping a bristlenose pleco?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why do I fail at keeping a bristlenose pleco?

I've been keeping fish for the past 2 1/2 years for friends but recently in the past year and a half started my own tanks. Started with just a 40 gallon breeder and with 3 giant danios. Then added two yellow lab cichlids, then later two white. Then a bristlenose pleco. All started as juveniles. Then one day my tanked leaked and I had to change to a rubbermade tub for a couple of weeks.

Sealed the tank and put them back in. They did well for quite awhile then the bristlenose died. Maybe stress from changing from a 40gl to a 30gl tub.

But he seemed to be cannabilized because I found little left of him. Then my tanked leaked again so I put it aside and bought a 55 gallon. Happily my fish lived then I decided to bring back my 40 gallon breeder so I bought a new one.

The yellow and white cichlids were breeding so it seemed to be a good idea. I put about 20 baby fry in that breeder tank and eventually gave them away but tried to put in a couple of albino bristlenose plecos. They did ok for awhile but only one really grew then died.

Now I have this minature albino pleco who does well. But quite recently my chocalate bristlenose that I bought for my 55 gallon died. Along with a couple guppies.

Maybe some loose carbon cuz i added some but the plastic filter holders that came with my emperor marineland filter didnt hold my filter media and spread it in my tank. But again the pleco looked cannabalized and there was little left.

But I cant say the guppies died at the same time one female very pregnant and one cool cobra tail male. I found almost nothing left of them.