To CHILL or not to CHILL

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To CHILL or not to CHILL

Hello All! I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have been successful with cichlids but now want to move on.

I am considering a reef tank. I have been reading a lot and enjoy learning about the saltwater hobby. I’m looking forward to it.

One question I have is, is a Chiller needed? It gets pretty hot here in Houston over the summers. I normally keep my house at 78 degrees when I’m gone and 73 when I’m home. Is that going to be a problem along with the lighting that will be needed for the reef?

It would be great if I didn’t need a chiller as those things can get pricey!

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Mike

I've never had a chiller. I just use a couple of $10 fans from Walmart. I have a controller that turns the fans on when temp gets over 79.
    I have a 125G with 3x150 watt Metal Halide on a 9-10hr/ per day schedule.
    I keep my house at 78, 79F all the time and my tank fluctuates between 79-81.

Comment

keeping your house at those temps, you shouldnt need to use chiller

i have my house set at 77 all the time

and never had to use chillers,

i have several reef tanks , using metal halides 2 x 250 and also running T5 HO

Comment

No chiller! hahaha :) as long as your A/c doesn't crash for an extended period of time

Comment

Cooling through evaporation has always worked for me even with extreme lighting.
          700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

Awesome!!! That is what I wanted to hear! Thanks for all the replies. Now one last thing, is it possible to maintain a reef tank with Houston area water or should I wait until I can get and RO/DI unit. I actually live in Katy but I'm pretty sure the water is the same or close to it out of the tap. Once again, thanks for all the replies!

Comment

Originally posted by Mike777 View Post