New to Discus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Discus

Hi people I'm new to the hobby and I would like to start keeping discus. I have a 75g 48x30x12 tank and would like to keep about 6 discus. I plan to do a lightly planted tank with ADA soil or similar on the sides and pfs over the rest and over the soil too. It would be scaped like a bowl kinda. Would that work? I'm running a fluval 205 and an eheim 2213 for filtration and a sponge filter? Is that enough? Also, I'm planning to run 4 t5 48" bulbs on the tank? Will that freak the discus out? Or should I tone down the lighting? Any feedback would be sweet
    Chef~PIER 61 SEAFOOD

150G~discus and altums

I have been working on building my first discus tank also. From what I have found, you need LOTS of filtration. I would probable add a 110 aquaclear HOB of a larger canister in place of one of the canisters you have now. I am planning to use an FX5 and a 2217 on my 110 gal. Also the lighting may be a little much, but you do plan to have plants so it may be needed. Not sure if I understand your aquascape design, but Discus like wood. They live in the roots of trees in the Amazon river. Check with Dustin at Houston Aquarium Warehouse in Stafford down the street from you. He has some nice Discus.

Make a thread of your build so we can follow it and make comments as you go. Good luck and I am sure it will turn out great.
    Fishtafarian- Fish are more than just a hobby, they are an obsession.

110 gal Tall (Angel Community)
    29 gal (Planted Puffer)
    10 gal (snails and small planted)
    5 gal Hex (shrimp)

Comment

I agree the light will be on the bright side. Unless you're planning to inject co2, bright light and enriched soil aren't necessary and may wind up a huge algae farm.