Albino Veiltail Pleco

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Albino Veiltail Pleco

I'm not really big on the terminology surrounding plecos and such, so you'll have to forgive me. I'm not sure or what exactly to call them. They have been called long fin albino bristle nose plecos along with numerous other things. From my minimal research online, they seem to be some type of Ancistrus. Perhaps someone can help clear all this up for me...

Anyhow, I have a 36" 30 gallon tank with 5 of these guys as well as some red cherry shrimp and some Cyprichromis fry. Yesterday I noticed something weird going on in the tank, so tonight I though I would shoot a couple quick photos. Keep in mind that that photos were taken in the dark with a flash, so I had know idea what I actually took a picture of until I loked at them on the computer. Also keep in mind that I am a horrible photographer. :?

See anything weird in there??
    Look toward the top of this pic...

Or how about the bottom of this pic...

Anyone know how the long fin gene is passed down? Is it a dominant or recessive trait? What percentage of the fry will also be of the long fin variety. The individual that I aquired these from said that they breed true... is this actually a possibility?

Sorry for all the questions...
    Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
    Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
    Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
    Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Re: Albino Veiltail Pleco

Tim that's awsome....all i can say is that i've never seen any of those guys before.....but if you have fry in there that look like them....i want to get in line for a couple of them.....

oh, and congratulations.....

Comment

The first picture almost looks like a clown.