Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• J. Marlieri Bloated

Hi Everyone,

I discovered one of my adult J. Marlieri this afternoon in a really painful looking bloated condition. This is one of the smaller of the adults I have, and I believe it is a male. It seems to be getting around okay, but is kind of slow, and wasn't interested in food this evening.

Does anyone have an idea what might cause this fish to be in this kind of condition. It's really swelled up, and has to be in a lot of pain. If anybody has any ideas for treatment, I would welcome them.

Thanks in advance.

Re: J. Marlieri Bloated

Food is the first thing that comes to mind. What have you been feeding? Not bloodworms by chance? I'm not really good at answering questions... just gifted at asking more :)
    Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
    Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
    Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
    Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Comment

Is it bloated or does his scales flip outwards?

Try and quarantine it and dose it with some aquarium salt and keep a close eye on him if its just bloated.
      700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

epson salt works good for bloat. If you can try to mix in their food so they will eat it.
        It helps my discus to pass the poop out when they get stopped up.
        Board Member of Houston Aquarium Society
        Mod OF Marshreef

Breeder of Discus, Angels, Bristle nose & Sail fin Mollies
        Coming soon Daphnia

Comment

i've heard that a diet with a higher ash content helps them pass their food more easily. at least thats what scot said at the last LHA swap, i tend to listen to people with more experience then me. particularly with cichlids.
          Never fear I is here
          David Abeles
          Vice President
          Greater Houston Aquarium Club

Comment