Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Nitrate

  1. #1
    amcgee2842's Avatar
    It's Cichlid, Not sicklid.
    Status : amcgee2842 is offline
    Join Date : May 2013
    Location : Katy, TX
    Posts : 219
    Thanks : 3
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    Nitrate

    I usually do water changes 2-3 times a months. Try to do it once a week. I added some new fish in my cichlid tank which is now over stocked so I did a 50% water change last Thursday. Then I did another 50% water change on Monday and tested my nitrates which look to be in between 80 ppm to 40 ppm. Did another 50% water change filled it up about 80% and and took it back down to 50% water level and filled it back up and it only dropped the nitrates to 40 ppm. Should I do 50% water changes a day until I get down below 20 ppm.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Alex1's Avatar
    Hey, watch the slime coat buddy!
    Status : Alex1 is offline
    Join Date : Aug 2015
    Location : galveston county
    Posts : 273
    Thanks : 0
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    I'm shocked that a 50% water change didn't do the trick. I usually have to do a 20% water change.
    I'm interested in what someone else on here have to say about this as well.
    I will say when this happen to me I did a daily 20% water change until it came down. And my tank was not overstocked.
    Good luck to you.

  3. #3
    Alex1's Avatar
    Hey, watch the slime coat buddy!
    Status : Alex1 is offline
    Join Date : Aug 2015
    Location : galveston county
    Posts : 273
    Thanks : 0
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Tell us what your setup is.
    And all test results are.

  4. #4
    amcgee2842's Avatar
    It's Cichlid, Not sicklid.
    Status : amcgee2842 is offline
    Join Date : May 2013
    Location : Katy, TX
    Posts : 219
    Thanks : 3
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Its a 92 gallon corner. I run a eheim 2217 with mechanical filtration and purgien. On the out take of the eheim is a turbo twist 36 uv filter so at that flow rate the uv should kill just about anything. I also have a ehiem 2262 with some mechanical filtration but load with matrix and eheim bio media. I also have a eheim 350 skimmer. I have not run a test on ammonia or nitrites becuase they have been at zero for a long time but will run those test tonight and a ph test and let you know. I cleaned the filters about three weeks ago using aquarium water to clean the bio media. Also a side note when I cleaned the filters I ran some new eheim green tubing to connect the 2217 to the turbo twist and there are already black dots on the inside of the tubing which is assume algea but i thought that was awful quick in 3 weeks to get that.

  5. #5
    specialone0812's Avatar
    I have been to the bottom of the lake.
    Status : specialone0812 is offline
    Join Date : Apr 2008
    Location : NorthWest (249 and 1960)
    Posts : 1,138
    Thanks : 24
    Thanked 60 Times in 53 Posts
    Also test your tap water

  6. #6
    amcgee2842's Avatar
    It's Cichlid, Not sicklid.
    Status : amcgee2842 is offline
    Join Date : May 2013
    Location : Katy, TX
    Posts : 219
    Thanks : 3
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    I did test tap it was at zero

  7. #7
    amcgee2842's Avatar
    It's Cichlid, Not sicklid.
    Status : amcgee2842 is offline
    Join Date : May 2013
    Location : Katy, TX
    Posts : 219
    Thanks : 3
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Here are my test tonight....didn't have time for water change...can't tell my pH any where from 7.6 -7.8.

  8. #8
    bamzam's Avatar
    So, those are scales.
    Status : bamzam is offline
    Join Date : Apr 2015
    Posts : 39
    Thanks : 4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Do you have any plants? They should help a little bit. But in general, the only way to get rid of nitrates is through water changes.

  9. #9
    troy tucker's Avatar
    Dagon
    Status : troy tucker is offline
    Join Date : May 2011
    Location : Katy
    Posts : 3,796
    Thanks : 388
    Thanked 460 Times in 413 Posts
    When was the last time your filter media was cleaned? The bio filters remove ammonia by turning it in to nitrate. After some time the filter will bleed off nitrate to the tank. The filter has become a nitrate sink. Even big sumps do this just not as often.
    tap water should have no nitrate but will show ammonia. That is actually chloramian. But shows up in your test as ammonia.
    Nothing Kills Evil Like a Sharp Stick...

  10. #10
    amcgee2842's Avatar
    It's Cichlid, Not sicklid.
    Status : amcgee2842 is offline
    Join Date : May 2013
    Location : Katy, TX
    Posts : 219
    Thanks : 3
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    No plants I have had java fern and anubias with the cichlids and they leave them alone but since they are slow growing plants they do little to help with the nitrates.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help with nitrate battle!!!!
    By Nzg62ol in forum Diseases and Disasters
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 09-24-2014, 07:33 AM
  2. Nitrate
    By SillySphynx24 in forum Saltwater Chemistry and Aquarium Equipment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2013, 04:46 PM
  3. 0 Nitrate?
    By Lawsman in forum The Fish Basics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 05:26 PM
  4. nitrate
    By RUDEBOY8tropheus in forum Chemistry and Aquarium Equipment
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-20-2009, 04:50 PM
  5. Nitrate Levels
    By CichlidFan in forum Chemistry and Aquarium Equipment
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 02-22-2008, 11:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •