Hard Lesson Learned

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hard Lesson Learned

for anyone who is new to shrimp like me, this may be a useful lesson i learned the hard way. i am by no means an expert yet for shrimp, but passing along whatever knowledge i can at this point.

i tried CRS maybe 2 years ago and the tank never took off. people usually say how easy they are so i was disappointed the endeavor failed. i am now trying again with blue velvet shrimp, which people still say are relatively easy. i started to notice some odd behaviors. i saw one molt, but some were laying on their sides, moving in jolting manners, swimming in erratic spurts, etc.

i joined a FB group for shrimp, and they have been very helpful. after going through temp, ammonia, etc. they mentioned TDS was important. the seller noted his TDS when i purchased, but i honestly have never in my life owned a TDS meter. i always went off the fish behavior. if they were healthy, active, eating, etc...i figured all is well.

get a TDS meter before purchasing your shrimp. i knew shrimp are sensitive to the things like ammonia, nitrite and nitrates. all of those were testing out at zero or close to it, so i thought my tank was perfectly fine. topping off when needed, water is clear, etc.

but....of course there is a but...i was still losing shrimp. i only saw one or two actually dead, but have feeling more are gone in the rocks/plants. the most i have seen alive now are around 5-8 at a time out of the initial 20. its possible there are more hiding, but who knows. i know i dont have 20 anymore

i ordered a TDS meter and it came yesterday. the seller said his tank was 340 ppm, which by the meter chart is acceptable and moderate water in regards to hardness and dissolved solids. the EPA cutoff for water is 500 ppm to get into the red. i tested a few sources:

Distilled water -> 0 to 1 ppm
    Filtered Water from Fridge -> 217 ppm
    Tap water -> 252 ppm
    My Shrimp Tank -> 742 ppm