looking for someone to help guide me.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking for someone to help guide me.

So I'm looking into setting up a 40 breeder reef tank. I have the tank and stand already and am not sure what else I willNEED to get started. Like do I really need a skimmer and bio reacter and all that fancy stuff. also I am new to sumps and don't know 100% on what it takes to run one. I currently have a 125,100 and some other smaller freshwater tanks so I'm not new to the whole nitrogen cycle and the other basics. I live in Santa Fe tx, if anyone that lives close could allow me to peek at their operation and give me some knowledge on the topic it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Bryan.

Okay... i'll bite....

Sounds like this is your first SW tank. My first piece of advise is that before you start, read as much as you can from forums, articles and talk to as many people as you can. There are some good LFS around with nice knowledgeable folk who can help you out. Hear people's opinions and understand the reasons why some people prefer to go one way and others decide to go another. You'll find quickly that the SW community have very strong personal feelings about doing certain things a certain way. Compare pros and cons and see which one fits your situation / expectation.

Stuff to get educated about:
    1) Saltwater Water Chemistry (Salinity, Specific Gravity, Temperature, Carbonate Hardness, Calcium, pH, waterchange requirements)
    2) Equipment - Skimmer, Refugium, Heating, Auxillary pumps, Sump, Overflows, Durso standpipes, pump returns etc.
    3) Livestock. - Compatibility, hardiness, feeding requirements

As for my personal advice:
    I would go for a FOWLR (fish only with live rock) tank. As you get more comfortable with SW, you can start adding other stuff.
    Personally (and other folk my disagree), but i would recommend for a Minimum the following: