Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So, I'm new to the freshwater scene... Help me...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So, I'm new to the freshwater scene... Help me...

Okay, I want to start-up a nice, large, planted tank. I'd also like to do a Fahaka (sp?) puffer in there. I'm not sure how large... I guess, at least a 75g, but I have room for much bigger if the puffer needs it.

Any way... what do I need? Is there something special I should worry about with the water quality, and what not? Does the lighting need to be extreme, like a reef tank? I'd like to get this going because I love puffers, but they always mac on my corals when I add them to my reefs.

I've owned freshwater tanks in the past, but nothing serious. Never kept plants and never really monitored water quality. If a fish died, it went down the toilet... I'd like to try to avoid that going forward.

What should I know?

Thanks everyone!
    Leo

I'm a plant guy but in no way a puffer pro. Hang tight this is about to blow up.

Comment

i am neither but i want to know the answer. i seen the puffers this guys have and i want one.
      75g Tank,
      2- Wild Scalare Angel 2-wild Angel snakeskin, 2-half blue half black Angels, 5-Guianacara Geayi, 4- Blue Rams(1m/3f), 1- L144, 1- Pleco unknown type 1-Blue Neon Goby
      2.5g Mini Monter - Shrimp Tank
      10-RCS, 1-Red Sakura 5-Malawa, 8-Boraras Brigittie, 1-Adonis Pleco, 1-Zebra Nerite, 1-Horned Nerite
      10g Tank
      Hospital 2-F. Endlers

2-29g Empty Tank, 20L Empty Tank , 125g Empty Tank[SIGPIC]sigpic

Comment

if i am not mistaken about puffers, they love to eat plants. when i do see them around they are in large tanks with brackish water, i would guess that they might need pretty good water quality. do a search in the forums since i know that a couple members just set these interesting fish up recently
        75G Standard - High Light Planted Community Fish