Styrofoam underneath aquariums??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Styrofoam underneath aquariums??

How many of you guys/girls have styrofoam underneath your aquariums.  Is this used for even weight distribution in the event that your stand if not symmetrical?  I have never done this before.  I am going to order a custom tank off of glasscages.com and part of their warranty states that the tank must be sitting on top of a sheet of 3/4" styrofoam.  I'm confused.  PLEASE HELP.. also, where can you buy sheets of styrofoam?  My tank will be 8' by 2'.....

Re: Styrofoam underneath aquariums??

I would think you could buy it from home depot or lowe's. Unless the tank is shipped with the styrofoam wrapped around it. But I have never heard of using styrofoam under a tank. I am currently using egg crate from home depot in my S/W tank under the sand just in case my fish knock over any rocks.

Edit: you could even try a craft store or as a last resort: take a couple of styrofoam ice chest and cut them into squares.
    A house without a puffer is not a Home.

Comment

A lot of people use styrofoam....and if you are getting a tank from glasscages I would use the styrofoam as their disclaimer states.

I have used it in the past for those crap stands that are all warped.
      700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

If I was to use a "cushion" of some sort, I would use a 1/4 inch piece of corkboard, also available from HD, or Lowe's.

CF
        Truth is the cement that holds the bricks and stones of a sane and civilized society together. Remove the former and the latter will crumble.

Comment

I would use the styrofoam, because you do not really want to do anything that would void a waranty.

It is always good practice to do so, but it is unsightly.  It is up to you and your best decision to live with or not.

Best of luck!

Geoff
          380G For Sale $3000 Acrylic tank & stand
          300G Petrochromis Trewavasae and Tropheus mpimbwe Red Cheek & Duboisi