seahorses

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• seahorses

Well my girlfriend has been on me for awhile now about wanting seahorses. We have a 30gal hex tank we are planning on using.We have a 303gph fluval canister filter , a hang on back skimmer and bought sea salt today. Im new to saltwater and definitely new to seahorses so any help would be appreciated.

not trying to sound rude but if your new to saltwater i would not attemp keeping seahorses
    dont bro me if you dont know me!!!!!

Comment

If you've got the money and time, shoot for it, but I would do plenty of research before actually buying them.

Comment

Got the time and the interest and willing to learn

Comment

Seahorse is really hard to keep. I would not suggest seahorse as the first experience into saltwater world.

Comment

We have been keeping fresh water for a long time with great success im not saying we know everything but we do our research and are willing to take advice. Im not trying to be rude but im not looking for the dont do its i know we can keep them health i was hoping maybe a few people here might have some experience with them and willing to help us get started

Comment

If you really want to try. I suggest you better go with HOB filter like Aqua Clear and convert it into refugium and have enough live rock and live sand for the biological filtration. Don't forget to always use RO/DI water to mix the salt with. Don't rush the cycling period, let the tank mature naturally, it may take a while. You also need to test the water regularly to ensure everything is fine.

Comment

So you suggest hob filter rather than the canister with protein skimmer

Comment

HOB filter with protein skimmer. What kind of protein skimmer do you have?

Comment

Originally posted by dbc2804 View Post
                    So you suggest hob filter rather than the canister with protein skimmer