Native collecting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Native collecting

I'm looking for a nice spot near La Porte to collect natives. I'm new to natives so I'm rather ignorant to all of it. Any and all help/advice will be very much appreciated.

Native collecting

Any bayou, ditch, creek or stream and a cast net.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Comment

Originally posted by barrettsline View Post
      Any bayou, ditch, creek or stream and a cast net.
      +1 Any body of water you can find. Bring a cast net and a minnow trap if you're going to be catching fish for a while. You could even use a small rod with a small hook.

Comment

oh boy... give me a few and I will write something up...

Are you looking for big stuff (bass/sunfish/pickeral/gar) or smaller stuff (darters, minnows, etc)?? There is a big difference in your method depending on what you are looking for.
        75 planted (Being Renovated)
        Endlers
        gobies
        lots of nanos

Comment

For sure seeking little guys. I have a 10 gallon that a few people on aqua advice said would be perfect for a native theme tank.

Comment

Originally posted by WadeLP View Post
            For sure seeking little guys. I have a 10 gallon that a few people on aqua advice said would be perfect for a native theme tank.
            Little guys as in fish that stay little? Or fish that are little and get bigger? Most of our fish supposedly get big and would outgrow a 10 gallon.

Comment

Stay little. Like killis and livebearers. I'm not a large fish guy.

Comment

Native Killifish can work in a smaller tank, but are surprisingly aggressive. Golden would be your best bet or some bluefins...
                Livebearers - I would try your best to locate some dwarf livebearers, they do perfectly in a tank that size.