Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking about starting a Nano Reef.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking about starting a Nano Reef.....

So I have a 20 gallon freshwater tank with a ghost shrimp in it (I love to ask the people at petsmart for one ghost shrimp lol). I am thinking about converting it into a Nano Reef. I have no experience with salt water setups and was trying to put together a list and budget of what I need to decide if I want to do it or not.

What I have now is:

1. A standard 20 gallon glass rectangular tank with a hood.

2. Two Marineland penguin 150 HOB filters (Probably not useful)

3. A Heater.

4. Marineland Maxi-Jet Pro power head. Not on the tank but I have it…

I know I am going to need some live rock and live sand not sure about the cost and how much.
    So any advice if this is a good idea or not and or what all I need and general price range would be greatly appreciated.
    Mentally Challenged

My Flickr

Sounds like a good start dude! You can use everything you listed.

The true nanoreef only needs very little. LR is used as the filter media. All you need in addition to LR is water moving in the tank. You can use both the HOB and PH for this.

You do not need LS. I would recommend just new clean sand. You want to aim for about .5-1" of sand.

Most import in an reef system is the lights. The corals you want to keep will determine the light you need. I recommend softies only for now. And CF/PC light will work.

Water: RODI is a must. Add salt. Done. Doing a small water change weekly is also a must.

You don't really need anything else. Hope the advice was helpful.

Try to look over the links that are in the sticky threads. Feel free to post up any question but try to be more specific. I find that you will benefit the most from this process.

Also, read over some of the nano reef journals we have here. Post questions on those threads and you will get even better feed back from the OP.