Opinions on Two Setups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on Two Setups

Hi, I'm pretty new to freshwater. The only tanks I had before my recent two is one my parents set up over 13 years ago and which we only had for a short while, and a number of betta tanks.

I recently set up a 10g with endlers and some driftwood and gravel. I'd like to put some plants in it, but am having trouble choosing which plants to try. My light is nothing special, just what came with the tank when I was given it. What plants would the endlers like most?

My other tank will have 3 male fancy guppies in it in the future, but first I need to figure out what type of filtration I'm going to use. The tank is currently set up with a red tiger lotus and an airline which is broken up by an Egyptian vase decoration I was given. It has gravel, not sand and is 2-3g. The tricky part about it is that is is a cylinder, so HOB are out. My plan was to do the same as I do for the betta tank downstairs and use an undergravel filter, stir the gravel during water changes and when algae starts to grow too quickly, take it apart and clean the entire tank. I actually had a feeder guppy in there that was very pretty, but it jumped two inches out of the tank, a foot off the glass table, and about a foot after that on the floor Before I add anything else to that tank, I plan on figuring out what type of filter I'm going to use. Then I'll get a plexiglass lid cut for the tank and whatever needs to come off the filter and use a piano hinge and some sort of handle to make feeding easier. In addition to the undergravel filter, I found both sponge and box filter suggested for 3g tanks. What is your opinion on these different filters?

Thanks in advance for the advice. Once this is done I get to choose guppy colors

10 Gallon.
    For a list of low light plants... http://www.houstonfishbox.com/vforum...worked-for-you
    What fixture does it have?