need help lighting my refugium

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help lighting my refugium

hey guys im new to this forum and the salt water hobby i have a question about my refugium...

so i just built a 10 gallon refugium for my 72 gallon bow front, ik it may not be the best size but its all i had room for. i figured a small refugium is better than none. but i was wondering what kind of light should i put on it, all i'm wanting to do is put some peppermint shrimp 4 inch sand bed and some live rock and algae that i can get at my fish store i go to. i have an extra 250 watt 12k metal halide, and i have a 15w 8k t8 fixture. i was wondering if the metal halide would be wayyy too much light for a 10 gallon refugium. but would that t8 fixture work that i had on my freshwater tank before (it was my 10 gallon that had a few cichlids in) well please help me out guys/gals on this forum. much appreciated. im a college student on college funds, so i dont wanna really have to go buy a t5 light for my refugium or anything if i dont have to. thnx.
    72 bow front

bubble tip anemone

pair of ocellaris clowns

niger trigger

sailfin tang

Go to HD and get the clip on light. Its a large round metal fixture that uses scissor clamps. Get the highest K rate CF bulb you can find usually around 5700K+ and this will grow cheato no problems.
    Resident fish bum
    330G FOWLR
    34G Reef
    330G Discus biotopish (no longer running)
    28G JBJ Reef (no longer running)
    Treasurer, GHAC

Comment

about how much will that run? like i said im a college student on a budget lol. i put my metal halide on there for now to c what it does. but idk if there's a such thing as TOO MUCH LIGHT. is there?
      72 bow front

bubble tip anemone

pair of ocellaris clowns

niger trigger

sailfin tang

Comment