question about carbonate hardness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question about carbonate hardness

I'm new to reef keeping and I just purchased an api reef master kit today and every thing checked out accept the carbonate hardness was way higher then their chart allowed for almost double but my fish and corals appear to be ok. is a high level of carbonate hardness a major problem and if so what can I do about it?

I would double check again. Alkalinity should be from 8-10dKH. In the past people have ran it at 16dKH before without much livestock issues. Just as long as the livestock was properly acclimated.

The only real problem was high amount of precipitant all over gear. They would need vinegar baths often. Calcium deposits would be everywhere.

What are the test results?

Comment

i checked twice and both times it took 21-22 drops befor it turned yellow which i guess means it is 21-22 dkh

Comment

Are you dosing? How'd it get that high?

Comment

i don't know i put some buffer in to raise my ph I think that stuff raises alk some but I didn't know I had a problem with alk when I did it

Comment

Almost all marine ph buffers raise alk. You gotta be careful with that.

Why were you adding buffer? What Kinda livestock do you have?

Comment

I have a variety of corals mushroom,zoas,monti,cabbage,toadstool,brain,anenom es,tea cup etc. and fish and my ph was sitting at7.8 when the booklet recomends 8.2-8.4 so I threw a few tea spoons full in surely i must have had an alk problem before that

Comment

maybe it's just in my water i just bought an ro/di system but I haven't set it up yet

Comment

I think that's where you alk prob came from.