Bad Experience with Saltwater retailer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad Experience with Saltwater retailer

Sorry, I'm new to posting here and hope I'm not out of line.

I'm very new to saltwater fishkeeping but I have about 5 years experience with freshwater. I set up my tank almost four months ago and ran very little until I put my first fish in it maybe 3 months ago, it was a green chromis. It died within a week but the 10 hermit crabs I have bought are thriving, I was a little disheartened and blamed myself, it took a few weeks and I bought a cute striped damsel and a turbo snail a month ago exactly. The turbo snail keeled over two days later. Just this Tuesday, I bought a lawnmower blenny and two peppermint shrimp. The blenny died today. Everything was purchased from the same shop and I noticed a lot of fish appeared to be in poor health. I acclimated them very slowly over a 3 hour process as instructed, I had a water test done that day at the store and was told my nitrates were good, I have an ammonia test of my own so didn't have that tested. My water salinity is at .021, theirs is at .016 or so so I knew it was important to acclimate.

Salt fish aren't cheap, I'm doing it slowly step by step on a budget, so it's a little upsetting to spend money with little result. I don't know how to approach this retailer that has a no satisfaction guarantee or whether to blame myself, but for a fish that lives on algae they were living in BARE tank bottoms. Perhaps there is a better fish retailer in this area because I feel as if I may be wasting money to continue at this store. Every time I buy things in twos, one thing DIES and its just so strange.