Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting a 55g and need to know what all I will need.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a 55g and need to know what all I will need.

I will be getting a 55g (stand but no SW lights). It was used prob about 4 months for FW so it does not have any of the equipments. I need help since I am quite new to SW. Right now I have a 29g Nano and became addicted so I'm moving on up. I guess I would need a sump, protein skimmer, and powerheads. And of course sand and live rocks which I can get at the end. I just need to know where and what all I would need for get this baby running smoothly and clean. Please point me in right directions. Much appreciated.

Is the tank reef ready? Otherwise you're gonna need to drill the tank or get an overflow box. Gear is all dependent on how much you wanna speed. Do you want top of the line or decent? Nice thing about sw is the over abundant choice of options to get.

On another note I just got a 55g tank too. Gonna go with a bubble magus nac6 or nac 7 skimmer, Ehiem 1260 return pump, maybe 2 vortech mp40. Light is gonna be a maxspect g2-160w.

Comment

Its not reef ready. Im prob have to get an overflow box then. I wish I had money for top of the line. Decent will do for me. I had Donnie at CP tell me a sump and overflow box will prob cost me about $220.
      Where do u get your equipments, Soy? So what kind of lighting will I also need?

Comment

220 sounds about right. Just get the eshopps overflow box. It's about 50-60 dollars. I have an old wet dry system you can have to get you started. Just bring me a 6 pack and we'll call it a deal. Then you can upgrade to a better sump later on if you want. Then you need to worry about a return pump. I used a cheapo maxijet 1200 until I could get a decent return pump. Geoff on this forum has a few nice used return pumps. So right now a basic system could cost you as little as 75-100.