New to SW. Need advise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to SW. Need advise

I've got a Nano 28g. Been running about 1 1/2 months now. Bought some live rocks (have it in there for about 2 wks now) from someone which already had some mushrooms and feather like things on rocks. I bought some damsels, snails, and hermit crab last week. Changed out portion of water few days ago. I just bought some zoa frags yesterday. My question is: Is it too soon to put in cheap corals? I just want some colorful corals in tank. This will primarily be a fish aquarium. Plan on putting some yellow tangs in months from now. Do I need a skimmer? The water I am using is bought at City Pets. Can I put some more corals in this weekend? Can I buy some Peppermint shrimp to put in as well?

Originally posted by dthang8 View Post
    I've got a Nano 28g. ... Plan on putting some yellow tangs in months from now. Do I need a skimmer?
    I'm no expert at SW tanks, but I'm pretty sure a 28g is too small for one yellow tang, let alone more than one.
    "Millennium hand and shrimp!"

Comment

Well like I said, I gotta start small first and plan on getting a bigger tank later on. City Pets got the same tank with rocks and corals with 2 small tangs. Thats really all I want in there.

Comment

Personally i would use a skimmer.
        IMHO, I also think that the tank is too small for two tangs.
        You might be planning to get a larger tank soon, but be advised that it is going to be QUITE soon as the tangs grow moderately fast. Why not start with a larger tank now that fits your tangs or go with fish that are more suitable for your tank size.