Retailers Responsibility?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Retailers Responsibility?

Ok, I'm not saying that I am an expert, but I'm not a novice. I have successfully maintained 14 freshwater tanks for over 3 years now. Yesterday in one of our LFS's on 1960 I witnessed something that sent me right over the edge!

I witnessed a woman looking to buy more fish for her current tank. Now normally I wait until someone asks a question before I "butt in"and share my experience. I understand that retailers want to sell fish, BUT shouldn't there be some responsibility and respect for the fish?

This uninformed buyer was looking at the arowanas. She asked if he would go well in her tank with her glo lites!!! I informed her that the arowana would get very very large and would eat her glo lites eventually. The clerk offered NO advice. She asked if it was an agressive fish and the clerk told her NO!!!! They sold her a 6" Bala Shark also. The arowana was about 5" - not a small one. I know I was standing there with my mouth gaping open!!!!

Out of curiousity I asked her how big her tank was and she said....30 gallon. Not a 30 gal rectangle but a 30 gal hex. ("All I have are visions of that poor arowana going back and forth across the top of that tiny tank)

Maybe I'm wrong, but I think she should have been told the truth about what she was buying and asked about the combinations she was putting in such a small tank.

It incensed me so bad that I refuse to go back there. I understand that people are going to buy what they want; but why should such nice species have to be sacrificed because of ignorance on both the buyer and the sellers parts?

Thanks for the vent!!! My other half is sooo tired of listening to me rant!:icon_hang:
    1 - 29 gal - Breeding Pair Green Terror w/fry
    1 - 29 Gal -Two white saum green terror
    1 - 75 gal - Pleco & Green Terror
    1 - 75 gal - 25+ Green terror, Botia