Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 75g repair....

I'm going to give it a go....

I have two twin 75g tanks, both with cracks....the plan is to use a pane from one tank to replace a cracked pane in the other. Now, I've never done anything like this before so this should be interesting to say the least. So far I have removed the trim from both tanks....and later I'll head to the hardware store for some razor blades, acetone and silicone (GE I). Now what I need to know is, what do I use to hold the new piece of glass in place when I install it to insure a tight fit and seal??

BTW....I believe I'll have some spare trim from the donar tank I anyone may need it....
    Originally posted by PhishPhreek";p="
    So,  if nothing else, save the trim.  there is always someone who needs it.  

My progress so far....

A mouth will say anything....:ym_chatterbox:....Take a picture!!!!

Re: 75g repair....

The trim does a great job holding the glass in place but nothing is better than a lot of DUCT tape

PS go to the hobby store and take a look at all the fancy xacto blades you can get.
    'Dear Lord,' the minister began, with arms extended toward heaven and a rapturous look on his upturned face. 'Without you, we are but dust ...'
    He would have continued but at that moment my very obedient daughter who was listening leaned over to me and asked quite audibly in her shrill little four-year old girl voice, 'Mom, what is butt dust?'

Comment

Looks good and good luck with the repair!  
      Fish are people too, they just have gills.

Comment

Just a suggestion but for a few bucks more you could have gone to the local glass shop and bought a piece of merrored glass to use for the back of that one tank and just glued a patch over the cracked bottom of the other......

And think of the tank you could make if you glued all the pieces toghter...