Oscars and Red Belly Pacus.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oscars and Red Belly Pacus.

Well I'm new to owning an aquarium, and I got 2 Oscars and 1 Red Belly Pacu a long with some cheap gold fishes. The gold fishes will be removed soon from my 65g tank. But some of my concerns are: (Things I hear, not sure if they are true)

-Gold Fishes release a bacteria that will eventually kill my Oscars and even maybe the Red Belly.

-Oscars will get killed by the Red Belly Pacu once they are both grown.

-Red Belly Pacu requires a tank the size of a lake or a small ocean.

Can anyone throw me some pointers to this newbie to the hobby. Keep in mind that I'm buying fishes cause of what I read. Oscars and the Red Bellies seem like real interesting fishes to have.
    68G: Cichlid Community tank soon to be moving in a 125G.

Equipment: Fluval FX5; AquaClear 7; Powerhead 350.

Re: Oscars and Red Belly Pacus.

The last one is the most true. The other two have parts that are true. Let me try to explain.

Goldfish tend to be dirty fish. They are more tolerant in my experience to higher levels of ammonia than other tropical fish. This leads to people saying that having goldfish in the same tank as tropical fish (oscars and pacu) is a bad thing. Realistically, it can be done, but you'll need to satisfy two things: you'll need to do frequent water changes and you'll need a big enough tank.

I think the oscars will be fine with the pacu as long as there isn't a tremendous size differential and the tank is large enough. ...You're going to need a BIG tank...
    Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
    Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
    Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
    Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Comment