saltwater question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• saltwater question

I realize we, for the most part, discuss freshwater, but since I am a newbie to the saltwater realm, I am not as comfy asking this question anywhere else.   Since several of you are on Marshreef, I am hoping you can answer my quesiton.
    In my 20 I have three damsels and nothing else.  This was an established tank that was given to me complete with the live rock, the saltwater transported in buckets, and the algae already on the back of the tank.  The tank has grown this lovely red velvet.  Now i have a purple patch that is almost um.. hairy.  Is this a good thing or a bad thing?
    Since i have issues posting pics I am posting the links to my photobucket.  

5.5 fw fluval chi - class N top bar snake chested endlers/ red marble bn/ 4 stripe RCS/ pumpkin shrimp
    20 sw cube - a few damsels and a colony of bristleworms
    29 fw - self cloning crayfish..which can't seem to clone haha
    29 fw - mollies / albino bristlenose / ghost shrimp and snowball shrimp/ glo danios
    29 fw - crs/ amano/tiger shrimp /assassins/ whiptails/ plants/ 3 emerald cories
    55 fw - steatocranus casaurius (20ish)/ tetras/ rainbows/large Jack Dempsey
    75 fw - large Jack Dempseys / pictus cat/ yoyo loach/ Red gippicep
    / 10+" oscar/ parrot

Re: saltwater question

Hey I got a tip for you R.....Dont' drink the water..... :)

I know zip/squat about salt water tanks.....good luck with your new venture into the deep.

CF
    Truth is the cement that holds the bricks and stones of a sane and civilized society together. Remove the former and the latter will crumble.

Comment

From what I have been told that is the result of not enough flow in the tank.  What type of lighting are you using and how long do you have the light on?

Comment