Performance of Odyssea Internal filter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Performance of Odyssea Internal filter

Odyssea powerhead sponge filter's prices are inexpensive.  Are they quiet?  How long do they last?  Is it easy to maintain it?

Re: Performance of Odyssea Internal filter

I believe them to be fairly quiet, but I'm not an expert on them, I've only been using them for about 8 months now. I have had no problems with the sponges on them and for the money I paid, I feel I got a good deal.

CF
    Truth is the cement that holds the bricks and stones of a sane and civilized society together. Remove the former and the latter will crumble.

Comment

Thank you, CF. Should I set it up below the water surface or toward the bottom of the tank?  What model of the Odyssea do you use and how big is the tank?

Comment

well...if indeed you got the 550, that sucker is going to be strong enough to pick up everything off the bottom including sleeping fish. I would place it about 3 inches below the surface and direct the water surge up towards the surface at an angle that will not create too much tribulence on the surface. You want a little break of the surface, but not so much that the water is splashing up onto the glass lids.

I was thinking of getting one of those and hooking up a plumbing system where the return water was directed via eheim return line tubing over the bottom of my tank, just to try that, to see if it would eliminate any dead spots.

CF

PS...plus, i dont like the looks of electrical cords running down the length of my tanks.

PSPS...i have two 350's and 2 250's, i use them in 125' and my 75's.
        Truth is the cement that holds the bricks and stones of a sane and civilized society together. Remove the former and the latter will crumble.

Comment