Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving a LARGE giraffe cat

Hi,

Well, I'm definitely not a beginner to the hobby, but I'm about to do something that I've never done before and I could use some advice.  This weekend I plan on moving my 22" Giraffe Catfish from the 150 to a 210.  He's been in the 150 since I got him and he was only about 5" at the time.  What is the best, least stressful (for me and the cat) method of moving him?  I currently don't have a net large enough, so if I need to purchase a larger net, then so be it.  But I wanted to see how others out there move their XXL fish.

Thanks!
    Our Fishhouse
    Sleep: A completely inadequate substitute for caffeine.

Re: Moving a LARGE giraffe cat

If you've got a larger ice chest just fill it with some of your existing tank water and put him in there maybe with an aerator until your ready to acclimate. My experience with these fish have always been a positive one regardless of how many times I've moved them. Their also really hardy, so I don't think you should have any issues with stress.

Good luck,
    J-WS6

Comment

I would assume that you have a ton of decorations in this tank?  What other inhabitants do you have in as well?  When we tore down Rrocket's 125 he had a few of those monster Plecos that you couldn't net.  We ended up draining most of the water out and directing him towards a bucket.  It worked ok but a larger net would be easier.

Comment

Borrow someone's pool net if you can't find one big enough, haha

Comment