Sand Substrate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sand Substrate

Right now, I have pool sand set up in my 16 gal and have a banana plant and water sprite. The water sprite isn't doing so well and I really need some bigger and better background plants. What can I get that will do well with this substrate and low-medium lighting. I can do CO2, but it might be awhile 'cause I'm new to the live plant thing.

Any suggestions would be great, thank you :)

Re: Sand Substrate

Having used sand myself in a planted tank I am going to say that it is a poor choice.

The stuff compacts and build anerobic gas pockets which you need to manually stir up cause even MTS snails won't cut it. Stirring the substrate doesn't allow plants to root properly and haveing the sand will force most plants to try and adapt which will end up with the plants dieing or start sending out side roots.

What do you consider to be low/med lighting? How long are you keeping them on for?

Honestly if your water sprite is dieing then you need to change it up some cause those are really easy plants which usually take over your tank.
    700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

How hard do you think it would be to pull everything out of my tank and layer black soilmaster under the sand?

It won't be able to be for a couple of weeks until I can go home and get the soilmaster, but I should probably start planning now for what I'm going to do. Should I just drain all the water into buckets and throw the fish in one of the buckets with the water, then take all the sand out and add soilmaster with the sand on top.

What's the easiest way to do this with minimal stress on my fishies?

Comment

Move the fish to a bucket and run the filter in it.

With the sand thing.....probably not gonna work since the sand will eventually make its way to the bottom.
        700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

I've done the layering with sand in a previous tank and it doesn't move down as much as you think it would.