African Cichlid question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• African Cichlid question

Here is my question that I pose to everyone to see if they can help me answer it. I am fairly new to aquariums as a hobby and trying to learn as much as I can I have had tanks since I was a kid, but have really gotten into Cichlids lately. Here is my question, there are many different types of cichlids from Lake Malawi for example Johannii's and Aulonocara's however there temperments are extremley different. I have gotten the two to coexist so far in my tank, but I am unsure about why they are so different if they are from the same system. If I were to go and buy a fish at a LFS most will say you should be able to keep Africans together. It is working but I worry about the longevity of the Sunshine if I keep them with the Johannii. I am thinking about getting another tank to have peaceful ones together (Or using that excuse to buy another tank   ) when I get more cash to start up another. Tell me what you guys know and think.

Thanks

Brian
    Resident fish bum
    330G FOWLR
    34G Reef
    330G Discus biotopish (no longer running)
    28G JBJ Reef (no longer running)
    Treasurer, GHAC

Re: African Cichlid question

I am in no way an expert but I used to keep Aulonocara's and I had one Johannii in there with no problems.  I had about 20 of the aulonocaras (those buggers are breeding machines).  I believe it is the mbunas that are the more aggressive africans and the aulonocaras are pretty docile.  How many Johannii do you have?  I'm sure others will jump in with more help soon.
    58G Malawis
    10G planted

Comment