Filtration for a 150 gal ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filtration for a 150 gal ?

Okay, it's my first time having a tank bigger than 55g. What kind of filtration should be enough for a 150gal tank ?
    I have 2 Aquaclear 110s that i'm running, what can I add for under/around $50 ?
    My name is Andri, and I'm an Ikoholic ! Back in the game !

Re: Filtration for a 150 gal ?

I'm running a Eheim 2217 on my 125, with a Emperor 400 and a powerhead, but I still have dead spots and alot of trash on the bottom when I use the vacumm. I'm thinking of running my powerhead on the bottom instead of the top.

I recently bought a Wet/Dry, it's still incomplete, and hopefully I will have it up and running soon on my 125. I would also consider a Emperor 280 or something similar, or maybe a powerhead with a sponge cannister on it???

CF
    Truth is the cement that holds the bricks and stones of a sane and civilized society together. Remove the former and the latter will crumble.

Comment

I used a Fluval 403 on my 140 and it did a good job.

It is a canister filter rated at 317 gph
      any of the new canisters in that flow range should work for you.

Wet/dry filters are good but be prepaired to add 1 - 2 gallons of water every day due to evaporation.
      'Dear Lord,' the minister began, with arms extended toward heaven and a rapturous look on his upturned face. 'Without you, we are but dust ...'
      He would have continued but at that moment my very obedient daughter who was listening leaned over to me and asked quite audibly in her shrill little four-year old girl voice, 'Mom, what is butt dust?'

Comment

What are you planning on keeping in the 150? A planted tank will need substantially less filtration that a tank full of cichlids. On my 150g cichlid tank, I have a wet/dry and a Rena xp3.

Why do you want to add more than the two aquaclear 110s?
        Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.