Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

One cichlid moving gravel, one's hiding, why?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One cichlid moving gravel, one's hiding, why?

I'm new to cichlids and this past week 2 of them started acting differently. They're from lake malawi but i don't know exactly which species. i've been told by someone they are cynotilapia afra. The tank is established (30 gals) and i've had them in it for probably 2 months. One has dug several deep holes in the gravel and moved the rest against one side of the tank. Another is hiding in a hole in some drift wood and hasn't come out to eat in 4 or 5 days.  i'm starting to get worried. Is this mating behavior? Do i need to somehow make sure the second one eats or is this normal? There are 5 others in the tank but their behavior hasn't changed. The gravel mover is larger and more aggressive (upper left in attachment), i've always assumed it was a male. The one hiding looks somewhat similar but is smaller and less colorful (upper right). I've always assumed it was female but don't know for sure. Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks. also, one of my yellow labs has lost almost all black coloring in his fins. yellow has faded a bit too since this picture. does that mean anything? other lab hasn't changed.

Re: One cichlid moving gravel, one's hiding, why?

How big are these guys?
    Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
    Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
    Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
    Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Comment

That fish is eatting, it just waits for you to get away from the tank, that or the lights to go out, or you got a female with babies in her mouth.

He is making his home and fending off all others!! His whole to breed in!!