lights and co2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lights and co2

okay....i have decided that i will put co2 on my 75 that i'm setting up to plant....i need some advice on lighting for it...i'm very new to this and i have no idea of lighting...so please speak newbie english if you are willing to give me advice on this issue....and as always let's keep in mind i'm not a winner of the lotto yet,.....nor have i found a j. howard marshall either.... and i have a daughter getting married in july so money is an object with me...  ...all advice will be greatly appreciated.....i should have my co2 in place within 2 weeks so i will be needing the lights upgraded by then.....

Re: lights and co2

Great! First of all, how are you going to supplement CO2? Are you going pressurized, or DIY (yeast, sugar, water)?

The lights you have on the tank right now, how many total watts? Are they normal fluorescents, compact fluorescents, or other? Your best bet for the money would be compact fluorescents - they last longer than fluorescents and provide you with more wattage. For instance, a fluorescent strip light that is 24" long will most likely have an 18W (plus or minus a few watts) bulb...whereas a compact fluorescent will give you 55 or 65 watts.

Of course, if you're handy in the DIY department, there are all sorts of things you can think up. I, unfortunately, am not. Living in a small apartment probably has something to do with that.  :)  

Then you have the decision of how many watts per gallon (wpg) you would like. There are options, such as a dual fixture, multiple single fixtures, etc. I'm going to take a look at your other thread to see the dimensions of your tank, substrate, plants, etc. and that might help a bit to determine the best way to go.

One thing for sure, aim for the 5000K to 10000K range in color temperature (the fixture and/or bulb will state this on the package). Usually if you buy a "freshwater" light, it will be a 6700K or 10000K.