Blacklight Fish (Glofish or others)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blacklight Fish (Glofish or others)

I am starting a tank, about 20 gallons.  I've bought some plastic fluorescent blacklight responsive plant scenery and would like to get some fish that look good in blacklight.  I've seen advertised these glofish, but I've seen that the market hasn't been very responsive to the first genetically engineered house pet.  I've wondered why, perhaps these fish aren't entertaining.  But since I am a novice I was wondering what kind of fish people would recommend for a small tank for a amateur like myself.

Re: Blacklight Fish (Glofish or others)

Welcome to the box first off...

With man made or man altered fish comes with a lot of stress or even handicaps the fish at times usually shortening their lives or making hard for them to live them. To sum it up most of it is kinda cruel.

I think glo-fish are somewhat different though.
    700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

Yup, Glofish are different. They're born that way.  :)

Danios are really great fish, especially for beginners, so if you can find any Glofish I'd buy 6+. And they're very active fish!

I've never actually looked at any fish in a blacklight, so I'm not sure I can help you there. But welcome to HFB!
      "Millennium hand and shrimp!"

Comment

Wait till Ramius see's this thread, I believe he has some.
        700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

Houston Aquatics on North Shepherd had some the other day but I don't remember the price.
          Reasoning with some people is like trying to nail jello to a wall...

Comment

I think they are around $2.50-$3.00 for one. (:

Welcome.
            Help support (C)atfish (A)nd (K)ool Pleco's; Houston's premier fish club
            Alexa Rae
            Co-President of CAK
            MAY THE GOD OF YOUR CHOICE BLESS YOU.

Comment

Info and photos:

Comment

Welcome to the box!

Ekl is right, I've got a herd of them grazing around my tank.