Missouri City water?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Missouri City water?

I'm totally new to fish and am trying to start my first aquarium. I bought a 5 in 1 test and found that my tap water is moderate hardness but the buffering and pH are off the chart (high). Is this typical of Houston area water? Is it worth (or necessary?) to fight it or do I need to find fish that can adapt to it? Not knowing how it affects pH, I did a test in a glass and put a bunch of drops to lower chlorine, etc but that didn't change the levels at all. Any thoughts/comments on what fish are best or how to lower buffering/pH levels would be greatly appreciated. Assuming i get it under control, will partial changes alter this level enough to harm the fish? I have a 29 gal tank I'm hoping to fill with a couple different types for my son.

Thanks,
    M

Re: Missouri City water?

By buffering, you mean alkalinity, right? Houston water is usually high on the pH end, and also usually pretty hard. But at my location, the buffering capacity starts off on the low end and decreases pretty rapidly, so I'd consider you a bit lucky! Is there any way you can post the numbers you got on the test, just so we can determine just how typical it looks? (Another thing, make sure you're testing the water in something that is completely devoid of any soap residue, as that can alter the test results significantly.) The numbers can also help us to recommend fishes for you, depending on how high it is.

The good thing is that if you're buffering capacity is high, that means your pH levels won't swing too much. Stability is one of the most important things in an aquarium, and your fish will appreciate a stable environment over one that fluctuates (because you have to alter your water every time you do a water change and because afterwards, the pH will automatically rise again because of your buffering).