Koikichi here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Koikichi here!

Hello all! Really neat site, didn't take me long to decide to join after I saw it. Well, I'm told "koikichi" means somebody who's crazy for koi, if so, that's definately me... Bought a tiny house in Spring last year, but with a huge backyard so the first thing I decided to do was build a modest little koi pond-- 1200 gallons or so. Seriously--did that before I got a kitchen table or sofa. And about 10 dead koi later (pump mishap), I've got a thriving project going with really nice koi, sometimes goldfish, frogs, mystery snails. I'd like to get an aquarium for fancy goldfish eventually, unfortunately that's where I'm extremely limited in my knowledge, but I make up for it in koi and pond stuff. I am by no means an expert, but I would be happy to relate any knowledge or experience and hopefully can contribute to this site that way. Of course, my pond is overstocked, so anybody looking to buy or trade, hit me up!

Re: Koikichi here!

wow ... those are beautiful ... but how do outdoor ponds fair when the weather gets really hot and humid?
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

Comment

Hey Logan, they do okay as long as your set up is decent. A deep pond is best to help moderate the temp. Unfortunately, I couldn't get my pond as deep as I wanted (darn clay soil) so I've moderated the temp. by having really high stone edging which generates shade over the surface. Then an arched footbridge over the pond helps by providing more shade, then finish it off with some water lilies. Even when it got 100 degrees outside, the water was still cool to the touch.

Comment

cool, post some pictures of your pond when you get a chance.
        There are 10 types of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

Comment

Welcome!!!

Ellen

Comment