My 55 Gallon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 55 Gallon

This is my first attempt at a planted tank, and I've decided to go natural on this one.  Low light, no ferts, no CO2, no heater, soil bottom with a gravel cap.  Canister filter has sponges for mechanical filtration and some charcoal.  I had to put the small airstone back in it tonight as a couple of the swordtails were acting like there wasn't enough O2 in the water.

Anyway, here the 1 month old pic I took of it tonight.

Teeleton

Re: My 55 Gallon

That looks great.  Has it been difficult to keep up with?  You have a nice looking piece of driftwood in there.
    58G Malawis
    10G planted

Comment

Nah, not too bad.  Mostly I just have to trim the anachris back every so often because it grows to the surface, and then it starts growing across the surface. The driftwood was a piece of a fallen branch I found near my father in law's lakehouse.  I beat it into the proper length with a large hammer so it couldn't have any odd looking cut marks in it, and soaked it in the tank for a couple months to get it waterlogged.

Comment

Looks good, I love the piece of wood! What other fish do you have in there besides swordtails?
        "Millennium hand and shrimp!"

Comment

Currently 6 swordtails (3 male, 3 female), and 5 zebra danio.  I not sure, but I think the male danios have barbels and the females don't.

I got a bit of anubias yesterday from a friend of mine, and added that to the tank as well.

Teeleton

Comment

nice low light tank!
            700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

looks great, i would keep more fish but i love to have over crowded tanks its a curse. but keep up the good work. oh and no ferts and the soil gravel mix you have works fine with higher light too just need more plants.
              Never fear I is here
              David Abeles
              Vice President
              Greater Houston Aquarium Club

Comment

Update time!

Teeleton

Comment