New to Group and Hobby

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Group and Hobby

Hi everyone.  Other than spending considerable time researching online, reading some books and visiting countless LFS over the last year or so, I'm a newbie to the hobby.  

I purchased a used 110 gallon setup (60x18x24) from a friend over a year ago.  It was manufactured by Waterworld Aquatics here in Houston.   It's been sitting empty in my garage collecting dust for a long time now.  It is in serious need of a cleaning (mineral deposits, etc.).  It came with an Eheim Pro canister filter that's also sitting in my garage (with water in it) that I'm hoping I can salvage.  Other than that, the stand is the only other thing that came with it that I'm going to use (I would love to get a nicer stand but just can't afford one.)  Even the glass tops need to be replaced.  I've purchased a 48" PC fixture as well as substrate (3M Color Quartz), holey rock and some driftwood.  I've had the driftwood soaking in water for a year now and it finally sinks and does not turn the water brown!!!  I still need to buy the tops and I'd like to get a 3D background (can't afford Pangea and don't want to DIY so I'm currently looking at Terrascapes.)  I will probably also get some more rock and some plastic plants to round out the aquascape.

Basically, other than keeping a Betta here and there as well as a some other smaller types of fish in an Eclipse System 3, I really have no hands-on experience.  However, I do feel I'm finally ready to get everything set up and dive in.  I'm most likely going to start with some of the more docile (relatively speaking) African Cichlids such as Electric Yellows and Blues, Peacocks, and maybe even a Frontosa.  This is what the previous owner of the tank primarily kept.