New Angelfish tank

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Angelfish tank

I just bought a new 75 gal show tank and am planning for it to be primarily stocked with angelfish. I will be using some media from my established filter to seed the new filter but I also want to get some little fish in there to make sure it cycles ok before putting any angels in. I am new to angelfish and was wondering if zebra danios would be ok to cycle the tank with? I have read that angels can be agressive toward smaller fish but there is soooo much conflicting information out there that I would love some input from those with angelfish experience.

Also, if anyone has any tips or tricks specific to getting my angel tank set up and ready, I would love to hear those too.
    Bacteria: the only culture some people have

Re: New Angelfish tank

Obed is the guy to talk to.

Comment

Zebra danios work fine for cycling new tanks. You can leave them in the tank when cycling is completed if you want, they are too fast for the angels to waste too much time chasing them around. Angels are only semi-aggressive. If something is small enough to be food, they will go after it, the rest of their aggressiveness is reserved for establishing their pecking order with other angels. Angels will rarely be aggressive enough to kill another angel. Usually the problem exists if there is not enough cover or if you only have 2 angels. In larger groups no one fish gets all the abuse, it does happen sometimes though, that the immune system of a badgered fish is weakened by the stress and can have disease issues and die.
      when you decide to go for your angels I will be glad to help. You are welcome to come by and see my hatchery set up and if you have questions that I can help with, just let me know.
      GIVE NONE, TAKE NONE - BE FREE, HAVE FUN

Comment