Water chemistry fluctuations...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water chemistry fluctuations...?

I recently moved to Houston and have never had any experience with using a city water suppy in my aquariums (always used well water.) I have been monitoring the water for about three months now and about two weeks ago, there was a huge spike in the pH that lasted until just recently. The pH is now back down around 7 but it had been up to 8! I was just wondering if anyone could tell me if this is a common occurence or just a fluke? What is the best way to condition city water? I am very hesitant to use chemical buffers in my aquarium.
    Bacteria: the only culture some people have

Re: Water chemistry fluctuations...?

Perhaps I wasn't clear ... when I say I have been monitoring the water, I am refering to the tap water. No water changes were performed while the tap water pH was elevated.

Comment

Well, I'm sorry I can't help you on the info about the city water, I just moved back here a few months ago, so I can't really comment on trends yet...but, as to conditioners, I think you're right to be hesitant to use chemicals, especially if you're keeping fish that don't need anything too special with regards to parameters, etc. I think it really depends on what the well water was where you lived previously. I know you've probably mentioned it (sorry!) but where were you living? Was the water REALLY different from here? Also, do your fish react badly to a higher pH? If so, then you might need to work out a system. If not, I say acclimate them slowly to Houston water with only dechlorinator added (via water changes over time).
      I hope some of that made sense... :?
      "Millennium hand and shrimp!"

Comment