Water change

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water change

Well it looks like my tank is pretty much getting back to normal after all my problems. I did a test of the water today and it looks like i am down to .25 ammonia and nitrite, 40-80 nitrate, and 7.9 pH. I know that ammonia and nitrite are both toxic, but is this amount really anything to worry about. Also, after all my problems I had with my bio filter and so forth, should I go ahead and do a water change or should I wait until the ammonia and nitrite get to 0. I really dont want to lose the bio filter again.
    Live Fast, Die Young, Leave A Good Looking Corpse!

Been in hobby since March 2006

Re: Water change

Is the tank occupied?

I'm no pro at this, but I dont think a small water change would hurt.

Comment

i would say go for it.

all of them is still high but at least you got it. if there are no fish in there and no plans on them anytime soon i would leave it at is to work itself down. if there are fish in there maybe add some aquarium salt and change like 10-25%
      700g Mini-Monster tank

Comment

Yup, what they said.  :)  But also, yes, any detectable amount of ammonia or nitrite is something to worry about. So, small changes are the way to go. If you keep them small, like others said, it shouldn't effect your biofilter too badly. When it comes to cycling with fish, I tend to think that the inhabitants' well being is more important than the speed of the cycle.
        "Millennium hand and shrimp!"

Comment