Discus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Discus

I am new to this message board. Me and my husband have 3 tanks, all Cichlids. But I am wanting to set up a discus tank for the first time. My main question is about gravel, substrate. I am going to use plants in the aquarium. I found a substrate in a petsolutions catalog called Eco-Complete live freshwater substrate. This has live bacteria already in it, plus mineral nutrients for plants. I am wondering if this would be safe for dicus. I know they need soft, warm water and I know the PH. This substrate claims to not raise or lower the PH in tank water. Has anyone used this substrate? There are buffers to take out calcium, magnesium, etc, but this substrate HAS those minerals in it. So, what do you think? What is the best substrate for discus/plants?

Thank you to anyone who can help me.

Re: Discus

I have Eco-Complete in my tank and I had problem a few problems with it at first. I wrote the company about it and they said after 6 weeks there would not me a problem. I bought mine used. The guy said he had just put it in a tank and didn't like the color of it. I don't know how long he had it set up or what ph he was keeping it at. Mine has settled down and is fine now. The plants are growing like crazy.
    Smokin_Cache
    Planning a new 150+ tank. Any suggestions?
    Lets see what the imagination fruits.
    Check out my last tank

Comment

If you are just going to keep discus & not beed them. Tap water that is stored & heated before adding it to your aquarium. Will do just fine.
      I keep discus in a planted tank with pebbles as a substrate with a unused under gravel filter.  The UGF is left in because the roots hold to it.
      I also breed & sell discus to.
      For breeding I use RO water, for the ones I sell I use tap water with a hardness of around 260ppm
      Now if you want them to grow out quickly you will need alot softer water.
      Board Member of Houston Aquarium Society