200 gallon Tanganyika tank

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 200 gallon Tanganyika tank

I just recently purchased a 7'x2'x2' tank. I am in the process of setting of a wet/dry filter for it. I'll have a play sand substrate, shells, and lots of holey rock (pending an excursion to central Texas). I am new to these type of cichlids, but was looking online and found the following particularly intriguing:

- Cyprichromis leptsoma
    - Cyprichromis leptsoma
    - Altolamprologus calvus (of course!)
    - Neolamprologus cylindricus
    - Neolamprologus leleupi
    - Telematochromis vittatus
    - Ophthalalmtilapia ventralis (Mtoto)
    - Lamprologus brevis

I was thinking about getting groups of each of these if I can find them (6 to 12), but was curious as to whether or not they would get along together. I don't believe any of them are particularly aggresive, but would like to know any/all opinions before I start stocking the tank. I can't afford to make too many mistakes!

Would julies be too aggressive for this tank?
    Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
    Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
    Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
    Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Re: 200 gallon Tanganyika tank

Juli's are conspecific. I have yet to see any of my juli's bully any other fish in the tanks that I have them in. In fact, I have one pair that share their cave with a Tropheus and a Giraffe Cat.
    Consider my posts as general information based on personal experiences, and in most cases, far oversimplified. Actual mileage may vary. Don't try this at home. If symptoms persist, contact your physician.

Comment

I believe juli's normally compete w/ leleupi's for the same type of territories, but in such a large tank I don't think it'll be a problem.