X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ins and outs on cycling a tank

can anybody help me i am new to this and could really use some help

Re: ins and outs on cycling a tank

Hopefully these articles are helpful. How big of a tank do you have? Do you already have fish? Is this your first tank? The reason that I didn't answer your question directly is because there are many ways to do it. Some swear by a certain way, whereas other people prefer a different method.

Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
    Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
    Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
    Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Comment

Personally, my favorite thing to do when starting a new tank is to take a filter (or filter cartidge or sponge) from an old tank and put it on the new tank. There is lots of beneficial bacteria in the old filter cartridges (and sponges in particular). That will make the tank cycle very quickly.
      Scarecrow : I haven't got a brain... only straw.
      Dorothy : How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?
      Scarecrow: I don't know... But some people without brains do an awful lot of talking... don't they?
      Dorothy: Yes, I guess you're right.

Comment

I cycled my new 65 gallon in 4 days

1) set up in desired location empty with two odyssea powerheads with sponge filters and one old whisper 40 (with old bio cartrige) and one new whisper 40

2) fill up with new water and put in zip drops, like 5 per gallon

3) plug in everything and throw in a few feeder guppies

4) pull out dead guppies after about 4 hours and throw in some substrate the next day

5) let run for 3 more days

6) all fish (cichlids, plecos and florida gar) I added Tuesday are doing great

Comment

i am running a 75 gallon tank with an Eheim Pro II Aquarium Filter