Shy clown loaches?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shy clown loaches?

I bought a couple clown loaches from Village tropical on Saturday. They were very active after I got them in the tank, but then I read that they were looking for a way out! Now they are hanging out under this decoration and only dart occasionally to find some food, which are sinking pellets. Is this normal?

Re: Shy clown loaches?

I'm not an expert on loaches, but I'll throw a few suggestions/questions out until someone more knowledgeable comes along. First, you say a couple, do you mean 2? I do know that clown loaches prefer the company of their own kind, and it's neat to see them in a big group where they seem more comfortable exploring their surroundings. Second, they could just still be getting used to their new home, some fish take longer to come out of their shells, so to speak. And third, have you added any plastic plants or other decorations to the tank? They may be more active if and when they feel more secure in the tank, and sometimes this means knowing that they do have a place to hide when frightened.

Keep in mind that they can get pretty huge, so a larger group may not be in your/their best interest, but I have also heard that it takes years for them to do so.

Hope that helps a little!
    "Millennium hand and shrimp!"

Comment

Yes, I only bought 2. I have been told that you shouldn't add more than 6 fish at a time to your tank, and I wanted some other tetras, that's why only 2. I have NOT added any other decorations.

I think I may go get a couple more this weekend. The ones I have seem to be coming out a bit more, so maybe they are just checking it out.

Thanks!

Comment

Here's the ? - Should I go ahead a get a couple more clowns, or not?

OR should I get more plants and decorations?

Comment